Slow Adventures in Slothville

June 4, 2004

Flight

Filed under: Maybe worth a look, Photography, Slothyness — shhville @ 4:56 pm


A couple of weeks ago I dealt with the biggest bumblebee I have ever seen flying around my room by running out of said room and slamming the door. I have an intense fear of stinging insects – even cute fuzzy ones. I opened the door a little crack and peaked through.There it was – trundling through the air like a furry, floating lawnmower. It was so big and slow, it was like the Hindenburg. I couldn't believe it could get itself up in the air. I was laughing so hard and then suddenly the bee was gone. I couldn't find it anywhere. I went to sleep and the next day I was brushing my hair when I felt something crawling on my foot. It was my little Hindenburg. So I grabbed a cup and a piece of paper, snapped a couple of pictures for posterity (since I knew no one would believe me that it was the size of a plum stone) and released the poor thing. It wasn't lookin' so hot when I let it go but I'm hoping it was just thirsty. I put it under a forsythia in the rain and wished it luck.

So last night I took a sedative that my doctor prescribed for me for flight anxiety (I'm going to Australia in three weeks). I wanted Diazapam but she insisted on prescribing Lorazapam or Marzipan or whatever it's called. I took it last night because I wanted to try it out and see what it's like before stuffing a bunch of pills in my maw on the plane. I only took one. It was about the size of a tick. Well this morning I looked like I was doing the walk of shame to the bus stop, weaving down the street, ankles quivering back and forth in my high heels, sunglasses jammed on my face, hair everywhere. I fell asleep on the bus and my head snapped back so hard it almost came off. Of course I tried to toss my hair and pretend that I had folded my neck in half intentionally but I wasn't fooling anyone. Why can't I have Valium? Why? Why? I don't want to waste a day in Australia with a Marzi-Loraza-whatever hangover. I can't walk around all fucked up, looking like a crack whore in $300 shoes. It ain't right.

Last thing for today: I started reading this blog called Life at TJ's Place. If you don't know me and are a blogger, you probably already know about it. If you are a friend or family member, don't worry, it's not my ex-boyfriend. Just some random dude. Anyway, it's totally addictive and if you have a few minutes you should check it out. Link is below.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

