Slow Adventures in Slothville

November 29, 2004

I’ll be waking up on the killing floor…

Filed under: Boston, Whateverall — shhville @ 2:48 pm

I'm having a weird day. I'm sort of in a strange haze. I woke up this morning feeling like I had one foot out of the world and one foot in. Little snippets of things kept running through my head on the bus.

"…the choices we make…"
"…there is no direction…"
"…I could simply expire…"

Nothing coherent. No thoughts I could really make sense out of. Perhaps I should have stayed in bed this morning. I feel like I'm covered in cobwebs and it isn't like me at all, to flounder like this. Listening to the new Alison Krauss album all day long probably isn't helping.

Discovered the Massachusetts Sex Offender web site today. Pictures of all our registered Level 3 sex offenders and a list of their convictions along with home and work addresses. It's nauseating but I can't stop rifling through the photos looking for someone I know, trying to burn these strangers' faces into my brain so that I will remember…. A majority of them live in homeless shelters, specifically homeless veteran shelters. For some reason this surprises me. I expected a more even representation of all our social strata. I wonder what the cause and effect is there? Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

