Slow Adventures in Slothville

August 29, 2005

Monday, Shmonday.

Filed under: Whateverall — shhville @ 12:19 pm

The concert kicked my furbutt.

First of all, we had AWESOME SEATS. I am only like a foot and a half tall, and I could see everything. Second of all, Shawn Colvin, who I have never been a huge fan of, opened with a cover of “Heart of Saturday Night” by Tom Waits which caused me to instantly forgive her for that horrible “Sunney Came Home with a Wrench and a Stray Cat” song.

Then she talked about how she had watched “Napoleon Dynamite” every night on the tour to which a rowdy audience member responded, “Vote for Pedro!!” and for some reason Shawn said, “He’s got a fever.” The same audience member, who has now been elevated to shamefully-cooler-than-me-because-I-never-would-have-thought-of-it status shouted, “And the only cure is MORE COW BELL!!!” Thankfully I did not have to pee, because I laughed so hard that there definitely would have been a problem.

John Hiatt rocked with such ferocity that he left a giant crater where the Merrill Auditorium had been. Here is the set list as best as I can remember it – I forgot pen and paper and he played for like an hour and a half so I kind of lost track of the order after the fourth song or so.

Master of Disaster

Lift Up Every Stone

Crossing Muddy Waters

Your Dad Did

When My Love Crosses Over

Take It Down

Buffalo River Home

Ain’t Ever Goin’ Back

Slow Turning

Love’s Not Where We Thought We Left It

Memphis In The Meantime

Cry Love

Thank You Girl

Drive South

Is Anybody There?

Native Son

Tennessee Plates

Lincoln Town

Real Fine Love

Have A Little Faith In Me

Lipstick Sunset

I really wanted Hiatt to play “The Tiki Bar is Open” but he more than made up for it by making fun of Pat Robertson for being a crazy douchebag.

Then, last night, New Guy and I watched “The Ring II” (or as we call it, “The Bling II”) which is about as scary as a basket of kittens. NOT recommended.

Got a lot of garden pics which will go up this week. Happy Monday!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

