Slow Adventures in Slothville

December 16, 2005

My Awesome Job

Filed under: Whateverall — shhville @ 1:35 pm

I am the approver for all travel reimbursements and invoice payments in our massively huge department. This is the kind of shit I deal with every. Single. Day.

Dear A –

In the future, please don’t hang up on me. I’m just trying to do my job which revolves entirely around making your job easier. I could send this over to the Travel office and wait for it to come back just so that when I tell you it was not enough documentation you will see that it was Travel who said so, not me, and then maybe be even a tiny bit polite to me. I guess you think I’m some kind of mean, demanding nitpick but when was the last time something was sent back to you from the Travel office? I am thorough in my work so that things don’t have to be done twice.

If you prefer, from now on I will just send things over incomplete and wait for them to come back before contacting you, to save myself the trouble of wrassling with you over paperwork. It certainly doesn’t seem to be worth the trouble.

-Slothy

Dear Slothy –

I fully understand that you are trying to do your job and prevent complications down the line. My frustration is not with you but with a ridiculous system that occasionally boils down to outright harassment. The documentation I supplied is very clear — and complete; the vouchers are clearly made out in the amount of $39.95 per month in the name of [Vendor]; the letter on the [Vendor] letterhead stationery clearly acknowledges payment for the month of July, and even though the amount is not stated all the other vouchers are for $39.95/month, so one could probably correctly assume that the July figure was for the same amount. I appreciate your attention to detail, but I would also like to think that the people at Travel can demonstrate common sense occasionally and not subject everyone to this frustration when everyone has made a good effort to supply what is required.

Thanks.
A

Dear A –

This is absolutely confusing to me. Some people just include an MRA (missing receipt affidavit – trumps all other paperwork) with everything they do in case I need it, which I rarely do. Some people see the provision of a requested MRA as exactly what it is: 30 seconds to fill out a piece of paper and stick it in an interoffice envelope with my name on it. Then there are the people who act as if I am asking them to do something morally reprehensible. As though providing an MRA is tantamount to drowning a sack of kittens. If I asked you to drown a sack of kittens then I would completely understand if you hung up in my ear, but an MRA?

The Travel desk sees hundreds of these transactions a day. They have neither the time nor the inclination to dig into the minutiae of “assuming” things, not to mention that while yes they are strict, they are simply following IRS guidelines. I have done this job for several years and it never ceases to amaze me how personally everyone takes these rules – as though they are a personal attack. There is nothing personal about it. The rules are the rules. I didn’t make them up and I don’t even enforce them – Travel does. Go ahead and expend energy on being mad if you want to, but I don’t see why you have to shoot the messenger in the process.

If you want me to send this reimbursement over to Travel as-is, let me know. I’m more than happy to do it.

-Slothy

p.s. You’re a stupid cow.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

